星空下的节日季
星空下的节日季
随着节日季的临近,毛里求斯披上了生动的夏季色彩。从十一月至一月,年轻人们享受着学期结束后的长假,整个岛屿则沉浸在欢乐而多姿多彩的兴奋中,赋予这个节日季典型而热情的海岛风情和独特风格。

与夏季和假期同步的,是丰盛的时令水果。道路两旁的小贩们出售着各种最意想不到的物品,品种极为丰富,而堆着芒果、荔枝和菠萝的摊位则成为其中的亮点。在海滩上,这时正是大家庭聚会的时候,小贩们则会在filao树下出售新鲜的椰汁或是自制的冰淇淋。
在毛里求斯,圣诞节是在户外的星空下庆祝的。人们的阳台上通常装点着圣诞树,一家人聚在一起围着圣诞树吃节日餐,主要的菜肴有新鲜的鱼、烟熏马林鱼和棕榈芯配辣味肉,当然还有可口的略加辣椒的辣味水果沙拉。
随着新年夜的日益临近,大家可以听到人们欢快地相互问候“Banané”,这是对来年温馨祝福的克里奥尔语。商店会在这个喜庆的时候大声播放音乐,最后则一定有按中国传统燃放的爆竹和烟花照亮热带的天空。而在海滩上和家里,伴着激动人心的鼓点节拍和专为新年编写的世嘉(Sega)歌曲,正是好玩和欢乐的时刻。

沿路您会看到许多绚丽夺目的树,覆盖着一簇簇橙色或深红色的花,而与这些交相辉映的是挂在路上的卡车和公共汽车上的“Banané”束。直到一月中旬,闲散的热带喜庆气氛才会褪去,这里的生活恢复正常。

A festive season under the stars

Festive season
As the festive season is approaching, Mauritius lights up with vivid summer colours. From November to January, the younger ones enjoy long end-of-year school holidays while the whole island immerses into merry and colourful excitement that gives unique character to this festive time in the typical and exuberant island style.

Along with summer and the holidays, the seasonal fruits come in abundance. The mangoes, litchis and pineapples pile up on stands along the roads, making bright patches among the bustling activities of the hawkers selling an incredible range of the most unexpected articles. On the beaches it’s time for big family gatherings while the hawkers settle down under the filao trees to offer fresh coconut milk or homemade ice-cream.
In Mauritius, Christmas is celebrated outdoors and under a starry sky. Around the Christmas tree that is often displayed in the veranda, the family gathers for a festive meal with key dishes such as fresh fish, smoked marlin, spicy meat with palm heart and of course, a delicious fruit salad slightly spiced with chilly.

Luxury Hotels in Mauritius
As New Year’s eve draws nearer, one can hear people greeting each other with a cheerful “Banané” which is the Creole word to express one’s warm wishes for the coming year. Shops play music loudly during this festive time which ends with a Chinese tradition: the inevitable fire crackers and fireworks, that light up the tropical sky. On the beaches and in homes, it’s time for fun and gaiety accentuated by the catching beat of the drums and the sega songs written specially for New Year.

Along the roads, the flamboyant trees are covered with clusters of orange or crimson flowers. These will make up the bouquet “Banané” which are hung on trucks and buses on the road until the time when indolent and tropical rejoicing recedes towards mid- January, and life gets back to normal.