Choose your location


Under the vision and guidance of its executive leadership team, Air Mauritius has come into its own as the national airline of the island economy with a wealth of history and many milestones to its name.

With CEO Mr Somas Appavou at the helm, the leadership team of Air Mauritius comprises the following senior executives: 


APPAVOU Somas – Chief Executive Officer

Mr Somas Appavou, FRAeS, was appointed CEO of Air Mauritius Limited in July 2017. Having worked in key global markets, he has over 20 years’ of experience in the aviation industry. He holds a M. Phil Degree in Aerospace and Air Transport Economics from l‘Ecole Nationale de l’Aviation Civile’ and University of Toulouse as well as a Master Degree in Applied Mathematics from the University of Bordeaux (France). He started his career in the Strategic Planning department of Air Mauritius Limited. He then joined Airbus where he held leadership position including Head of Supply Chain in Hamburg, Germany; Regional Sales Director for Subcontinent-India and Africa. From 2009 to 2017, he held the position of Senior Sales Director, Middle East and Africa at Airbus. In this capacity, Somas Appavou was in charge of expanding market presence and supporting the growth of established airlines as well as the development of new airlines in Africa, whereby he contributed largely to the growth of Airbus commercial reach. He was appointed member of the executive committee of the African Airlines Association (AFRAA) in November 2018 for a period of three years.

Mr Appavou is well versed in business development, industrial partnerships as well as global functional support. Holder of multiple awards in Innovative Aircraft Financing Structure, Process Improvement and Aircraft Economics, Somas is a certified Six Sigma Black Belt and a passionate pilot having obtained his license in 1999.

BUTON Indradev – Chief Operating Officer

Mr Buton was the Executive Vice President-Strategic Planning and Information Systems until September 2017.  He has concurrently been the Officer-in-Charge from October 2016 to July 2017.  Since September 2017, he is assuming the role of Chief Operating Officer, responsible for the main airport functions as well as the Fleet Planning department. Mr Buton joined Air Mauritius in 1986.  

PAYEN Donald Emmanuel – EVP, Customer, Product and Digitalisation

Mr Payen is the Executive Vice President – Customer, Product and Digitalisation.  In the course of the year, he also oversaw Crisis Communications.  Mr Payen has held several leadership positions in the operational areas, Cargo, Customer Experiences, Commercial, Communications and has also served the Company in Reunion, Singapore and France. He received the French national award, Knight of the Order of Merit - ‘Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite’ in November 2016.  He joined Air Mauritius in 1979.  

SEETUL Vijay – EVP, Finance

Mr Vijay Seetul is the Executive Vice President-Finance and currently also oversees the Procurement and Facilities functions of the Company. A former President of ACCA (Mauritius) and Vice-Chairman of the Mauritius Institute of Professional Accountants, he also sat on the Board of the Financial Reporting Council. He is a fellow of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants since 1987 and joined the Company in 1989.

NOORAULLY Fooad – EVP, Legal

Mr Nooraully is the Executive Vice President – Legal. He was the Executive Vice President – Legal, Corporate Communications and Company Secretary up to February 27, 2017. Barrister-at-law by profession, he was formerly a State Counsel at the Attorney General’s Office. Mr Nooraully has also worked as Lecturer in Law at the University of Mauritius and News Producer at the MBC. He joined the Company in April 2001.

KEERODHUR Ashok – EVP, Technical Services

Mr Keerodhur is the Executive Vice President-Technical Services. He is in charge of the Technical Services Department which provides maintenance and engineering services for the airline fleet and technical handling services to third parties. He joined the Company in April 1989.

Captain LEUNG HING WAH Alain – EVP, Flight Operations

Captain Leung Hing Wah is the Executive Vice President – Flight Operations. He joined the Company in 1985 after studies in SFACT and ENAC as First Officer on the Twin-Otter. He was promoted Captain on the ATR42 in 1988. Subsequently, he has been Captain and Training Captain on Boeing and several Airbus Aircraft. Captain Leung Hing Wah has also occupied various Management Pilot positions since 1995 including Fleet Training Manager, Head of Support and Chief Training Captain.

JOLICOEUR Eddy – EVP, Human Resources

Having joined the company in July 2019, Eddy Jolicoeur is serving as the Executive Vice President HR.

Prior to joining Air Mauritius, Mr Jolicoeur’s career has spanned the breadth of the sugar industry in Mauritius namely Deep River-Beau Champ (1983-1990), Mon Desert Alma (1990-1999) and Medine (1999-2000). He next joined Rogers & Co. Ltd. in 2000 where he had been the Chief Human Resources Executive until he joined the MCB Group in August 2008 as Head of Human Resources. He is, furthermore, an Adjunct Professor at the University of Mauritius where he teaches on a part-time basis.